What’s In A Name?

11 Oct

And so it begins! I am not new to blogging, but this is my first official ” teacher-librarian” blog. In the past my blogs have been narrowed and focused around a topic such as books or web 2.0 tools. I wanted a space where I could include my thinking, learning, questions, and ideas around teacher-librarianship.

You might be wondering why on earth I chose to be the “upcycled librarian? ” Upcycling is the process of converting waste materials into new products in an attempt to make use of existing products. Being relatively new to the profession I feel fortunate to be a part of the journey and process of “upcycling” the role of the teacher-librarian to reflect the tremendous shifts that are occurring in education and around the world. ¬†Libraries are no longer just a place where you go to get stuff, but rather they are dynamic learning communities where collaborating, communicating, and co-construction of knowledge occur. How do we upcycle the role of the teacher-librarian? Join me on my journey of discovery.

CC:Roserevolution

Leave a Reply

